

# ASIAN-AMERICAN PACIFIC ISLANDERS COMMUNITY COMMISSION

Pueblo Room, Clark County Government Center 500 South Grand Central Parkway

Las Vegas, Nevada 89106

Thursday, September 9, 2021 6:00 p.m.

## **MINUTES**

Commission Members: Craig Valdez, Chair - PRESENT

Arlene Anita Markthepharack, Vice-Chair - PRESENT

Terry Chi - **PRESENT** Son Dao - **PRESENT** 

Christian Giovanni - PRESENT David Kim - PRESENT June Monroe - PRESENT Swadeep Nigam - PRESENT Neeka Simpson - PRESENT Edelweiss Solano PRESENT Hardeep Sull- PRESENT Sonny Vinuya- PRESENT Andrew Wong- PRESENT

Secretary: Gloria Wells, (702) 455-3500, Gloria.Wells@ClarkCountyNV.gov

Business Address: Clark County Department of Administrative Services, 500 S. Grand Central

Parkway, 6th Floor, Las Vegas, Nevada 89155

County Liaison: Emily Nowlin, (702) 455-3222, Emily.Nowlin@ClarkCountyNV.gov

Business Address: Clark County Department of Administrative Services, 500 S. Grand Central

Parkway, 6th Floor, Las Vegas, Nevada 89155

I. Call to Order, Pledge of Allegiance, Roll Call (see above), and County Staff Introductions: Gloria Wells, Secretary; Emily Nowlin, County Liaison; Kathleen Walpole with Administrative Services; Clark County Commissioner Tick Segerblom; and Clark County Commissioner Justin Jones.

# The meeting was called to order at 6:03 p.m.

II. Public Comment- This is a period devoted to comments by the general public about items on this agenda. No discussion, action, or vote may be taken on this agenda item. You will be afforded the opportunity to speak on individual Public Hearing Items at the time they are presented. If you wish to speak to the Commission about items within its jurisdiction but not appearing on this agenda, you must wait until the "Comments by the General Public" period listed at the end of this agenda. Comments will be limited to three (3) minutes. Please step up to the speaker's podium, if applicable, clearly state your name and address and please spell your last name for the record. If any member of the Commission wishes to extend the length of a presentation, this will be done by the Chair or the Commission by majority vote.

#### **No Public Comment**

III. Approval of the Agenda for September 9, 2021, and Hold, Combine, or Delete any Items. (For possible action)

Motion to approve by: Sonny Vinuya Motion Passed/Unanimous

#### IV. Informational Items

- a. Welcome and opening remarks from Clark County Commissioner Tick Segerblom and Clark County Commissioner Justin Jones. (For discussion only)
- b. Recognize Las Vegas Kaminari Taiko Drums and receive a performance. (For discussion only)
- c. Review the Clark County Ordinance that establishes the Asian-American Pacific Islanders Community Commission and the duties set-forth. (For discussion only)
- d. Receive a presentation from the Clark County District Attorney's Office regarding Nevada's Open Meeting Law (NRS Chapter 241). (For discussion only)
- e. Receive a presentation from the Clark County Department of Administrative Services regarding donations for the benefit of the Asian-American Pacific Islanders Community Commission and Clark County fiscal procedures. (For discussion only)

### V. General Business

a. Set and approve the 2021-2023 scheduled meeting dates, times, and locations of the Asian-American Pacific Islanders Community Commission. (For possible action)

Motion to approve by: Swadeep Nigam Motion Passed/Unanimous

- b. Discuss the Bylaws of the Asian-American Pacific Islanders Community Commission. (For discussion only)
- VI. Comments by the General Public- A period devoted to comments by the general public about items relevant to the Commission's jurisdiction. No discussion, action, or vote may be taken on a matter not listed on the posted agenda. Comments will be limited to three (3) minutes. Please step up to the speaker's podium, if applicable, clearly state your name and address and please **spell y**our last name for the record. If any member of the Commission wishes to extend the length of a presentation, this will be done by the Chair or the Commission by majority vote.

Hugh Le Margie Gonzales Santana Foster Eric Chang Kim Le Tuan Pham Rozita Lee Connie Harper Heather Gallow Radica Kunnel Augusta Massey

VII. Next Meeting Date: October 13, 2021.

VIII. Adjournment: 6:58 p.m.